NDIS full scheme timetable

The COAG Disability Reform Council has confirmed that the transition to full scheme National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) will commence on 1 July 2016.

The scheme will be operating across New South Wales and South Australia by 1 July 2018, and across Queensland, Victoria, Tasmania and the Northern Territory by 1 July 2019. In the Australian Capital Territory, all eligible participants are expected to transition to the NDIS by July 2016.

The Council acknowledged the transition from trial to full coverage of the NDIS will see a significant scale up, moving from around 30,000 participants in trial sites to an estimated 460,000 participants once all eligible participants are in the scheme.

The initial suggested approaches to participant phasing are:

New South Wales – staged geographical transition combined with a programmatic transfer of some cohorts, to be completed by July 2018;
Victoria – clients transitioning into the scheme by July 2019;
Queensland – clients transitioning to the scheme by July 2019;
South Australia – clients transitioning into the scheme by July 2018;
Tasmania – a state-wide approach of existing and new clients transitioning into the scheme by July 2019; and
Northern Territory – staged geographical transition by region to be completed by July 2019, subject to negotiations.

Information on transition timing and locations will be available by the end of August 2015.

One Reply to “NDIS full scheme timetable”

Comments are closed.