NDIS Rules Amendments

NDIS amendment rules came into effect on 1 February 2017 affecting two areas of operation of the scheme:

  • Becoming a participant; and
  • Plan management.

National Disability Insurance Scheme (Becoming a Participant) Amendment Rules 2017 appears only to note the expansion of the NDIS in South Australia, extending the age bracket and adding some geographic areas.

National Disability Insurance Scheme (Plan Management) Amendment Rules 2017 appears mostly to address matters of detail, inlcuding reference to in-kind supports.

An earlier statement by the NDIA explained:

Four new regions across the country and two new age groups in South Australia and Tasmania will enter the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) from 1 January.

The NDIS will roll out in new locations in the Toowoomba region in Queensland, Central Highlands in Victoria and East Arnhem in the Northern Territory, where the first intake of NDIS participants will occur following the successful trial in the Barkly region. In Western Australia, the Perth Hills trial site will also expand to include residents in the local government areas of Bayswater, Bassendean, Chittering, Toodyay, York and Northam.

In South Australia and Tasmania, where the NDIS is being rolled out by age group, the Scheme will grow to include people aged 15 to 18 and 25 to 28 respectively.

With thanks to Janine McIlwraith for noting this development.

One Reply to “NDIS Rules Amendments”

Comments are closed.