Learning from Clinical Negligence Claims.

Noted by John Tingle here, as part of its patient safety strategy the National Health Service (NHS) in England has created the first system-wide patient safety syllabus, training, and education framework.

Education and training are fundamental prerequisites for creating a patient safety culture in any health care system. This new patient safety syllabus is both innovative and reflective, combining systems and human factors thinking. The key domains in the patient safety syllabus are:

  • Systems approach to patient safety
  • Learning from incidents
  • Human factors, human performance and safety management
  • Creating safe systems
  • Being sure about safety.

A new, valuable supplement to this syllabus — a best practice guide to learning from clinical negligence claims — was recently published by the GIRFT (Getting It Right First Time) program and NHS Resolution.